Newsmakers: May 2022 – St. Louis Jewish Light

Top row, left to right: Howard Rosen, Cantor Seth Warner, Adam Siffer, Sam Dorshow and Claire Lazaroff Deane.
Second row: Bonnie Laiderman, Amanda Packman Stein, Darien Arnstein, James Singer and Steven E. “Ed” Musen.

Howard Rosen is the new Chairman of the Board of Covenant Place. Rosen is vice president of strategic planning and programming at Stifel Financial Corp. A member of Congregation Shaare Emeth, Rosen served on the board and finance committee of Covenant Place for 10 years.

Cantor Seth Warner de Shaare Emeth was elected president of the American Conference of Cantors. It will be installed on June 8 at the band’s annual convention in Chicago. Warner’s presidency takes effect August 1.

Adam Siffer won first place in November for his two piano solos at the Missouri Music Teachers Association Missouri State Competition, Performance by young artist 8th grade. Adam is the son of Renee and Mark Siffer and attends Parkway Northeast Middle School and Congregation Temple Israel.

Sam Dorshow recently graduated from the IHM Academy of EMS and passed the national certification exams while serving as a full-time Emergency Medical Technician. He continues his employment with Abbott Ambulance as a full-time paramedic. Dorshow attends Congregation B’nai Amoona.


Beth Shalom Cemetery Announcement

Claire Lazaroff Deane

Old St. Louisian Claire Lazaroff Dean was selected as Teacher of the Year at King William High School in King William, Virginia. A graphic design teacher, she has worked at the school for five years.

Veterans Home Care Bonnie Laiderman was honored as an Outstanding Woman by St. Louis television stations FOX 2 and KPLR 11 (Nexstar Media Inc.). Remarkable Women is a national initiative that is part of Nexstar’s celebration of Women’s History Month and International Women’s Day. It is designed to honor the influence women have on public policy, social progress, and quality of life in the United States. Locally, Laiderman was chosen as one of four finalists for St. Louis from more than 180 nominations. Laiderman attends the United Hebrew Congregation.

Amanda PackmanStein and Darien Arnstein will receive two of three social change awards to be presented May 16 at the national meeting of the National Council of Jewish Women in Washington, D.C. Stein, vice president of the NCJWSTL, is the recipient of the Elissa Froman Inspiring Leader Award. She is a member of Temple Israel. Arnstein, former president of the NCJWSTL and member of Kol Rinah, is honored with the inaugural Nancy K. Kaufman Enduring Leader Award.

James Singer received the Crystal Eagle Award from the Owners’ Council of America in January in recognition of his time and commitment to bringing the story of Dr. Howard Phillip Venable to public attention. More than 60 years ago, racially biased Creve Coeur officials pressured Venable to sell his property to the city, which was then used for a public park (read more at online story at The award is given annually to an individual who has made a substantial contribution to the advancement of private property rights. Singer is an attorney at Schuchat, Cook & Werner and a member of Shaare Emeth.

Steven E. “Ed” Musen published a book that chronicles his 45 years as a marketing and advertising professional, including how to create and implement local and regional advertising campaigns. The book, “Marketing Beyond Compare: How I Built Imo’s and Other Iconic Brands,” retails for $12.95 and is available at A portion of the proceeds will go to the Greater Saint-Louis Cancer Support Community. Musen attends Shaare Emeth.

Mikaela Snitzer

Mikaela Snitzer is one of nine Parkway students to receive a Gold Key award from the Missouri Scholastic Art & Writing Program for her essay, “Evil With a Smile.” This program recognizes student achievement in visual and literary arts in 28 categories. A senior at Parkway Central High School, Mikaela is the daughter of Amy and Brad Snitzer and attends United Hebrew. She will be attending the University of Wisconsin in the fall, majoring in psychology.

Top row, left to right: David Charak, Philip Taxman, Sheldon Harber, David Gutwein and Maxine Weil. Second row: Cindy Honickman, Debbie Schultz, Rick Spector, Rabbi Howard Kaplansky and Dan Friedman.

David Charac received the Craft Alliance Founders Award last month. The award honors an individual who embodies Craft Alliance’s mission and shares the belief that craftsmanship nourishes the human spirit, enhances community and transforms lives.

Philip Taxmansenior vice president and wealth management advisor at Merrill Lynch, has been appointed Forbes Best-in-State Wealth Advisor magazine for 2022. Taxman is a member of Shaare Emeth.

Sheldon Harber joined the Personal Financial Planning Industry Advisory Board of the Missouri-Columbia Department of the University of Missouri-Columbia. Harber is a wealth advisor at Visionary Wealth Advisors and assists Shaare Emeth.

David Gutwein joined the McMahon Berger law firm as a partner. He represents the interests of management in all areas of labor and employment law.

Maxine Weill was recently sworn in as mayor of Olivette for a one-year term. She previously served as mayor from 2018 to 2019. Weil is director of congregational learning at the Central Reform Congregation, of which she is a member. Weil also frequents the B’nai Amoona.

Cindy Honickman received the award for St. Charles Jaycees Board Member of the Year. She is a senior technology recruiter at Edward Jones and a member of Temple Israel.

Debbie Schultz was promoted to assistant vice president of financial management at the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis. She frequents the Temple of Israel.

Rick Spector was promoted to partner of L3 Corp., a retail trading brokerage firm. He is a member of Temple Israel.

Jill Schupp

Rabbi Howard Kaplansky, Dan Friedman and Missouri Senator Jill Schupp will be honored at the 2022 Jewish Community Relations Council Tzedek Awards on May 24 at United Hebrew. Kaplansky, of United Hebrew, will receive the Batya Abramson-Goldstein Legacy Award for his long service to the organization, including as former president of the JCRC and past president of the Newmark Institute. Friedman will receive the Michael and Barbara Newmark Emerging Leader Award for his leadership. He is Vice President of North American Sales and Business Development at Entegral. A special tribute will be paid to Schupp for her years of public service as she completes her term in the Missouri General Assembly. Schupp assists Shaare Emeth.

Dr. George Hruza

Dr. George Hruza received the American Academy of Dermatology Association’s Advocate of the Year Award at its annual meeting in Boston for his advocacy on behalf of patients and their physicians. Hruza is running for Missouri Senate in St. Louis County’s 24th District. He will face Brett Schenck in the August 2 Republican primary. The other candidates announced for the 24th precinct are Democrat Tracy McCreery and Libertarian candidate LaDonna Higgins.

Sophomore Ezra Bogard and his award-winning artwork.

Ezra Bogard placed first in the St. Louis Symphony Orchestra’s Picture the Music art competition and received the Maestro Award. His work, “The Dragon”, was selected from hundreds of K-3 entries. Ezra is a sophomore at Saul Mirowitz Jewish Community School and is the son of CRC Rabbis Karen and Daniel Bogard.

Newsmakers is a compilation of the newsworthy professional and academic achievements of the Jewish community. Submit your news to [email protected] Call 314-743-3669 for more information. Published the first edition of each month. Newsmakers is compiled by Elise Krug.

Comments are closed.